2015 Premiership

Thunder added a third premiership flag to the trophy cabinet in 2015 when they defeated Aspley by a single point in front of nearly 6,000 vocal fans in Darwin.

NT Thunder 11.15-81 def Aspley 11.14-80
Year: 2015
Date: 19th September
Time: 6:30pm
Venue: TIO Stadium (NT)
Crowd Numbers: 5,889

NT Thunder Coach: Xavier Clarke
NT Thunder Captain: Aaron Motlop

Thunder Premiership players:

# 2 Darren EWING
# 4 Aaron MOTLOP
# 6 Julian LOCKWOOD
# 9 Thomas MOTLOP
# 10 Shannon RIOLI
# 11 Jonathan PERIS
# 15 Matthew ROSIER
# 16 Cameron ILETT
# 17 Luke BATH
# 20 Ryan SMITH
# 21 Dom BARRY
# 23 Richard TAMBLING
# 24 Chris DUNN
# 25 Justin EMERY
# 26 Daniel WEETRA
# 27 Michael HAGAN
# 29 Justin BEUGELAAR
# 30 Sam TALBOT
# 31 Gibson TURNER
# 32 Ryan NYHUIS
# 33 Ben RIOLI
# 37 Liam PATRICK
# 45 Neil VEA VEA

The 2015 NEAFL Grand Final was a thrilling match to watch, with no more than three goals ever separating the two teams. Aspley were the defending champs, winning the NEAFL flag in 2014, aiming for back-to-back premierships. NT Thunder had the home ground advantage, with the game being played at TIO Stadium in Darwin with a turnout of 5,889 people coming to watch history being made. NT Thunder got off to a great start, leading at quarter-time 3.2-20 over Aspley 1.3-9. Thunder was able to continue their great form and establish a comfortable lead by three-quarter time 10.10-70 to Aspley 6.11-47.

However, it was a nail-biting finish, with Aspley inching within a goal towards the end of the fourth quarter. It came down to a last chance shot at goal for Aspley after the siren which would seal them the game. Aspley forward Gavin Grose missed his chance at goal slotting it across the face, scoring a single point and securing Thunder’s hard fought win 11.15-81 to Aspley 11.14-80.

Vison of the game can be found on the following link: