TIO Stadium will host 10 home games in 2018

Enticing fixture released for Thunder’s tenth year

01.12.17 11:41

NT Thunder will face some of the best NEAFL opposition in the opening rounds of the 2018 season after the fixture for its historic tenth season was released today.

The reigning premiers, Brisbane Lions will travel to Darwin for Round 1, then a road trip against traditional rivals Aspley and an enticing game against the might of Sydney Uni round out the Club’s first three weeks.

And with 11 home games all set down for 6:30pm, including the traditional ANZAC Day match against Redland in Alice Springs for Round 4, local Thunder fans have a lot to look forward to.

All AFL-affiliated teams; Brisbane Lions, Gold Coast Suns, GWS Giants and the Sydney Swans will make trips to Darwin next year.

Away games have been evenly spaced, allowing interstate Thunder fans to catch the team in Canberra and the Gold Coast once each, twice in Sydney and three times in Brisbane.

There will also be three games against Aspley, Redland, Southport and Sydney Uni throughout the season.

NT Thunder Head Coach Andrew Hodges said the 2018 NEAFL fixture ensured there was no such thing as an easy game.

“We saw last season that we can win away just as easily as we can be hunted and beaten at home, so it really is an open competition.

“Playing 11 games at home means we get to show our brand of Territory footy on Territory land in front of our family, friends and supporters but regardless, if we build a good enough list then we’ll be ready to play anyone at anytime and anywhere,” he said.

With NT Thunder memberships and special 10-year anniversary offerings due out later today there will be plenty of exciting games and events for Thunder fans to look forward to next season.

See our 2018 NEAFL fixture here or below. For the full season download the 2018 NEAFL Season Fixture.

2018 NT Thunder NEAFL fixture