Jarred and Cam Ilett with the 2011 Premiership

Club Champion award to be named after club greats

13.09.17 15:26

Ahead of Friday night’s presentation event, NT Thunder Football Club is delighted to announce that its Club Champion Award will now be named the Ilett Medal in honour of two of the club greats – Cameron and Jarred Ilett.

The Club Champion Award is presented annually to the player announced the best and fairest at the NT Thunder Football Club throughout the NEAFL season.

In the Club’s short nine-year history, the Illets have made an enormous contribution with the brothers playing a combined 227 games.

Jarred was the Club’s inaugural captain and played in the historic 2011 dual premierships alongside Cameron who captained the team in the same year. After Jarred’s playing career finished, he was CEO of the Club from 2012 – February 2015 and was instrumental in setting up the 2015 NEAFL premiership under then coach, Xavier Clarke.

Cameron has had an unparalleled career at NT Thunder winning almost everything possible, including the Club Champion award five times in 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014 and 2016.
While captaining the 2011 Thunder premiership teams, he also won the medal for best on ground in the second championship final in Alice Springs against Ainslie.

He’s been named in the NEAFL team of the year six times – four times as captain – and in the QAFL team of the year twice and was instrumental in the 2015 NT Thunder premiership side.

Both brothers are renowned as the ultimate professionals on and off the field, especially at training and around the Club.

Acting NT Thunder General Manager Wally Gallio said he hoped the renaming of the highest accolade at NT Thunder would inspire future generations of Territory footballers.

“The naming of this award is a testament to the calibre and standing of the Ilett brothers and the contribution they have made to NT Thunder on and off the field.

“When people think of NT Thunder greats, there are none more iconic than Cameron and Jarred Ilett, and we hope their legacy, and now the medal continues to motivate all future players who pull on the Territory colours,” he said.

NT Thunder’s Club Champion Awards will be held at the Michael Long Learning and Leadership Centre on Friday 15 September from 6.30pm.


NT Thunder games – 55
NT Thunder goals – 27
Player – 2009 – 2011
Captain 2009 (inaugural), 2010
Premiership player 2011
CEO 2012 – February 2015

Awards and achievements for Thunder/League

Inaugural NT Thunder captain – 2009

NTFL/Other awards and achievements

2004/05 & 2007/08 Nichols Medalist
2008/09 Chaney Medalist
NTFL Premiership player – 6 times


NT Thunder games – 172
NT Thunder goals – 180
Player – 2009 – 2017
Captain 2011 – 2013, Co-captain 2014
Premiership player 2011 and 2015
NT Thunder premiership captain 2011
NT Thunder Most Professional 2013, 2016
NT Thunder Players’ Player 2013, 2016
NT Thunder Club Champion 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2016

Awards and achievements for Thunder/League

Syd Guildford Trophy winner – 2010
Grogan Medal winner – 2011
Andrew Ireland Medal winner – 2011
Anzac Day Medal winner – 2011, 2015
QAFL/NEAFL NC/NEAFL representative – 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 (capt), 2014 (capt), 2015 (capt)
QAFL/NEAFL NC/NEAFL Team of the Year member – 2009, 2010, 2011 (capt), 2013, 2014 (capt), 2015 (capt), 2016(capt)
NTFL/ Other awards and achievements

2014/15 Nichols Medalist
2016/17 Chaney Medalist
NTFL Premiership player – 5 times