A running drill at training

Thunder pre-season to begin with familiar faces

18.12.17 12:41

The 2018 NT Thunder NEAFL group will hit the track tonight for their first pre-season training session.

In addition to the 10 players previously revealed as 2018 signings, the following players committed to multi-year contracts prior to the 2017 season:

Simon Bates
Michael Coombes
Davin Ferreira
Matt Green
Liam Holt-Fitz
Kayle Kossack
Jack Long
Michael Mummery
Neil Vea Vea
Daniel Weetra
Nick Yarran

With all players still heavily engaged with their NTFL commitments, Thunder pre-season training will initially consist of recovery, injury prevention and light skills sessions.

It is also an opportunity for other players not familiar with the NT Thunder program to learn more about the Club, its core objectives and the elite facilities available at the Michael Long Learning and Leadership Centre.

Head Coach Andrew Hodges said having players commit to the Club on longer-term deals worked well for NT Thunder and the player.

“Having a solid list of core players allows us to assist on an ongoing basis, whether they’re playing NTFL, require medical treatment or needing a gym program for strength and conditioning.

“A couple of those guys, namely Bates and Long, missed the whole 2017 NEAFL season due to injury and surgery requirements, but they’re valued players and if their form in the NTFL is anything to go by then they will add great depth to our side next season,” Hodges said.

On the young players, Hodges said playing consistent footy at NEAFL level could open up the possibilities.

“We saw with Tony Olango what a solid season at State-league level can do for you, and I have no doubt that players like Green, Holt-Fitz, Mummery, Sam Smith and Yarran can also achieve the same success with a solid season for NT Thunder next year.”