Five big ins to take on the Swans

13.07.18 10:10

NT Thunder has made five changes to this weekend’s team who take on the Sydney Swans at TIO Stadium in Round 15 of the 2018 NEAFL season.

Exciting young-gun, Michael Mummery, will play his second game for Thunder this week after being unavailable due to his playing commitments for the Allies during the NAB AFL Under 18 Championships.

After nursing a knee injury sustained in Round 7 when Thunder came up against Gold Coast Suns, Phillip Wills also makes his return to the field. Tylah Saunders and Patrick White join Wills adding depth to Thunder’s mid-field and forward-line. Saunders returns after being out with a shoulder injury.

Former AFL player and consistent performer, Richard Tambling re-joins the playing group refreshed after time off to give his body a rest. He brings invaluable experience and leadership to the team as they face the Swans.

Players out this week are Matt Campbell (unavailable), Hugo Drogemuller (injured), Coen Hutt (injured), Scott McLeod (omitted) and Beau Schwarze (unavailable).

NT Thunder Head Coach Andrew Hodges said that the team is just focusing on taking it one game at a time.

“It was great to get back on the winner’s list last week but the boys know that we can’t take our foot of the pedal during any game in the NEAFL and this week is no different.

“Our Territory brand of footy, when played, is the best in the business and when coming up against a quality side such as the Swans it’s paramount that we’re switched on for the entirety of the game.

“The players have put in the effort during training and I believe they have what it takes to get over the line at home this weekend,” Hodges said.

NEAFL Round 15
NT Thunder vs Sydney Swans
6:30pm ACST
Saturday 14 July
TIO Stadium, Darwin

B: Daniel Weetra, Sam Dyke, Ben Rioli
HB: Braedon McLean, Joe Anderson, Sam Smith
C: Nick Yarran, Abraham Ankers, Shannon Rioli
HF: Michael Mummery, Kaine Riley, Patrick Boles
F: Jarrod Stokes, Darren Ewing, Liam Patrick
FOLL: Jack Monigatti*, Cameron Ilett, Richard Tambling
INT: Phillip Wills, Chris Williams, Patrick White, Shaun Wilson, Tylah Saunders

EMERGENCIES: Izaak Wyatt, Scott McLeod, Jamie Hampton

IN: Michael Mummery, Tylah Saunders, Richard Tambling, Patrick White, Phillip Wills
OUT: Matt Campbell, Hugo Drogemuller, Coen Hutt, Scott McLeod, Beau Schwarze

* Indicates 23rd player

You can live stream this game on ThunderVision thanks to Tatts