Coen Hutt

Eight changes to face the Sharks

29.06.18 09:57

NT Thunder has come back after its bye with eight changes to the team set to take on Southport Sharks this weekend in Round 13 of the 2018 NEAFL season.

Saturday night’s clash on TIO Stadium marks the first time this year Coen Hutt, Beau Schwarze and Nick Yarran will take to the field for Thunder. All three young players made their NEAFL debut in 2017 and will be exciting additions bringing height, depth and speed respectively to this week’s line-up.

Hutt and Schwarze were both involved in the 2018 National Academy Series, playing for the Northern Territory which impacted their availability earlier on in the 2018 NEAFL season. Despite them being some of the youngest squad members their hard efforts and positive attitudes at training have earned them a spot on the field.

Yarran recently returned to the Top End after departing the Northern Territory prior to the commencement of the 2018 NEAFL season and approached the club seeking to play out his contract.  So, after re-commencing training in the past few weeks the quick midfielder will once again play in Territory colours.

Tall timber Ryan Smith, is back after being unavailable to play in Round 11. Smith will also be joined by the likes of Matt Campbell who has been caught up with his Under 16 NT Thunder Academy coaching commitments.

Hard attacking Jack Munkara, consistent performer Jarrod Stokes and versatile player Patrick Heenan also join the ins to line up against the Sharks, all providing another dimension to the midfield.

Going out this week are Rodney Baird (unavailable), Patrick Boles (injured), Jamie Hampton (omitted), Michael Mummery (Allies), Kaine Riley (sick), Tylah Saunders (injured), Richard Tambling (injured) and Ross Tungatalum (omitted).

NT Thunder Head Coach Andrew Hodges said it’ll be good to have some fresh legs out on the field this week against the in-form Sharks.

“Eight players may seem like a lot of changes, however, many conversations and reviews have been had prior to choosing this week’s side to give ourselves the best winning chance.

“With quite a young side named it presents the perfect opportunity to step up to the challenge this week against quality opposition,” Hodges said.

NEAFL Round 13
NT Thunder vs Southport Sharks
6:30pm ACST
Saturday 30 June
TIO Stadium, Darwin

B: Braedon McLean, Sam Dyke, Matt Campbell
HB: Cameron Ilett, Tom Davies, Sam Smith
C: Ben Rioli, Abraham Ankers, Shaun Wilson
HF: Patrick Heenan, Hugo Drogemuller, Nick Yarran
F: Jarrod Stokes, Darren Ewing, Beau Schwarze
FOLL: Ryan Smith, Shannon Rioli, Joe Anderson
INT: Jack Monigatti, Coen Hutt*, Patrick White, Jack Munkara, Chris Williams

Scott McLeod, Kaine Riley

IN: Matt Campbell, Coen Hutt, Jack Munkara, Beau Schwarze, Ryan Smith, Jarrod Stokes, Patrick Heenan, Nick Yarran
OUT: Rodney Baird, Patrick Boles, Jamie Hampton, Michael Mummery, Kaine Riley, Tylah Saunders, Richard Tambling, Ross Tungatalum

* Indicates 23rd player

You can live stream this game on ThunderVision thanks to Tatts