Sally Riley for ThunderW

Crows retain talent

04.06.18 16:49

The Adelaide Football Club has retained its core AFLW talent, with a further eight current NT Thunder VFL W players – including NT-product and Thunder vice-captain Sally Riley – signing on with the Crows for 2019.

In addition to Riley, fellow Thunder leadership group member Sarah Allan and her Thunder teammates including sister Jess, along with midfielders Deni Varnhagen, Jess Sedunary, forwards Eloise Jones and Ruth Wallace and Round 5’s four-goal star debut player, Anne Hatchard have all committed to playing with the Crows.

Popular forward Sarah Perkins, experienced defender Courtney Cramey and midfielder Rheanne Lugg have also signed on.

The Crows have already signed inaugural co-captains Erin Phillips and Chelsea Randall, Rising Star Ebony Marinoff, dual-sport athlete Jenna McCormick, midfielder Justine Mules, ruck Rhiannon Metcalfe, defenders Dayna Cox, Marijana Rajcic and Stevie-Lee Thompson, and NT-based players Angela Foley and Jasmyn Hewett.

On Friday the Club also signed experienced midfielder and Darwin-based player Renee Forth as part of its first AFLW trade.

Adelaide farewelled premiership defender Talia Radan who was traded to Melbourne for draft picks.

The AFLW sign and trade period finishes today (Monday, June 4), with clubs able to sign up to 23 players by this deadline.

Crows General Manager of Football Administration Phil Harper said the Club was delighted with how its 2019 list was shaping up.

“We’re thrilled to have retained our core group which has a good mix of experienced and up-and-coming talent. The girls are all working hard in the off-season and are eager to get underway with season three,” Harper said.

Four senior players including former NT-based players Sophie Armitstead and Abbey Holmes, along with premiership players Georgia Bevan and Rachael Killian, have not been contracted. The Crows have indicated it will strongly consider re-drafting some of these players in the 2018 AFLW Draft.

Rookies Becchara Palmer, Brianna Walling and Calista Boyd have also been released.

Clubs can sign a total of 30 players for the 2019 season, with lists to be finalised following the draft in October. The Crows currently have picks 8, 30, 37, 41 and 47.

AFLW clubs can also sign two rookies next season but both must be from other sports.

Currently, AFLW clubs can only contract players on a season-by-season basis.

The League is yet to determine the format of next year’s competition which will be extended to 10 teams with the inclusion of Geelong and North Melbourne.

Crows 2019 AFLW list:

Jess Allan
Sarah Allan
Dayna Cox
Courtney Cramey
Angela Foley
Renee Forth
Anne Hatchard
Jasmyn Hewett
Eloise Jones
Rheanne Lugg
Ebony Marinoff
Jenna McCormick
Rhiannon Metcalfe
Justine Mules
Sarah Perkins
Erin Phillips
Marijana Rajcic
Chelsea Randall
Sally Riley
Jess Sedunary
Stevie-Lee Thompson
Deni Varnhagen
Ruth Wallace
Five players to be added at the AFLW Draft in October, plus two other-sport rookies.

IN: Renee Forth

OUT: Talia Radan, Georgia Bevan, Abbey Holmes, Rachael Killian, Sophie Armitstead, Becchara Palmer, Brianna Walling, Calista Boyd