A new debutant as Thunder hit the road to face old foes

08.06.18 10:41

NT Thunder has made four changes to its NEAFL team to take on traditional rivals Aspley Hornets at Graham Road in Queensland for Round 10.

Cam Glover from Alice Springs comes into the team for his first game, taking the number of Thunder debutants to 15 in season 2018.

Previous years have seen 14 debutants in 2017, 16 in 2016 and 18 in 2015 – the club’s last premiership season.

Twenty-three-year-old Glover is a handy utility who can play either end of the ground and through the middle as well, and his introduction to the Thunder team is timely given the CAFL has a competiton bye round this weekend.

Returning to the side after missing last weekend are defenders Tom Davies and Shaun Wilson along with Tylah Saunders who missed last week due to previous commitments after signing with Thunder in a mid-season coup.

Full forward Darren Ewing kicked his 750thThunder goal in Round 8 and is also on track for a NEAFL milestone being 10 goals shy of kicking a historic 600 goals. He is the NEAFL games record holder on 145 games just five games off the magic 150 game mark.

Going out of the side are Adam Sambono, Matt Campbell and Sam Talbot who are unavailable due to work commitments, while Dion Munkara has been omitted.

NT Thunder Head Coach Andrew Hodges said the team was determined to get back on the winners’ list and the coaching group had been working hard with the players to turn the team’s fortunes around.

“Our focus is to put together a four-quarter effort this weekend against Aspley and not let our lapses in concentration cost us like they have in the past few games.

“Aspley is our long-time traditional rival, and we are fully focused on going out there to play our best brand of football and come away with the win.

“I’m excited to give another youngster the opportunity to represent the Territory. Cam Glover has played as a hard-running halfback most of his career but, through his work with the Redtails and at CAFL club level, has recently developed into a quick inside and outside midfielder, which will give us great versatility this week,” he said.

NEAFL Round 10

NT Thunder vs Aspley Hornets
1:30pm AEST 
Saturday 9 June
TIO Stadium, Darwin

B: Braedon McLean, Sam Dyke, Joe Anderson
HB: Cameron Ilett, Kaine Riley, Sam Smith
C: Ben Rioli, Abraham Ankers, Jarrod Stokes
HF: Tylah Saunders, Hugo Drogemuller, Chris Williams
F: Rodney Baird*, Darren Ewing , Jack Monigatti
FOLL: Ryan Smith, Patrick Boles, Shannon Rioli
INT: Tom Davies, Cam Glover, Shaun Wilson, Patrick Heenan, Richard Tambling

EMERGENCIES: Scott McLeod, Matt Campbell

IN: Tom Davies, Tylah Saunders, Shaun Wilson, Cam Glover
OUT: Dion Munkara (omitted), Adam Sambono, Matt Campbell, Sam Talbot

* Indicates 23rd player

You can live stream this game on ThunderVision thanks to Tatts