2018 Signings

Signed/Listed players in 2018:

Abraham Ankers – The sole Alice Springs representative at Thunder in 2017, Ankers had a standout year and finished equal runner-up in the Club Champion.
Simon Bates – Bates, the speedster, will be looking forward to playing again after eye surgery last season.
Tim Brook – New to Thunder in 2018, he is a utility who has predominantly played in defence for Southern Districts but can play further up the ground and through the midfield.
Michael Coombes – An exciting midfielder, Coombes was awarded NT Thunder’s Most Courageous in 2017 in his first NEAFL season.
Thomas Davies – Davies played 18 games in his first year for Thunder in 2017 and was awarded the Most Professional Award at season’s end.
Hugo Drogemuller – On top of his 15 games and 13 goals, Drogemuller impressed in his first season with Thunder with his aerial work at contests and in his ability to cover the ground.
Jarred Erlandson – Played 11 games in 2017, and is a hardworking inside midfielder that embodies the type of guy we want to be involved at the Club.
Darren Ewing – ‘Boof’ has been the Club’s leading goal-kicker every year since our inception and says ‘Thunder is a great place to be’, which is why he has signed on for a tenth year.
Davin Ferreira – Played his first season on the NT Thunder senior list in 2017 averaging nearly one goal a game, will be looking for a consistent season in 2018.
Matt Green – The Tennant Creek local had an impressive year in 2017 with Under 18 national representative football and is an AFL Academy player.
Liam Holt-Fitz – Another Tennant Creek export, Holt-Fitz is an exciting youngster whose star is on the rise.
Cameron Ilett – After announcing his retirement from Thunder last July the allure of a tenth season, awesome form in the NTFL and some coaching development has the three-time premiership winning, six-time Club Champion back for 2018.
Kayle Kossack – One of the well known footballing Kossack brothers from Katherine, Kayle will go into his fourth season at Thunder.
Jack Long – Long missed the whole 2017 NEAFL season due to injury and a shoulder reconstruction but is a valued player.
Braedon McLean – With 28 Thunder games to his name, McLean was a dependable figure in last season’s team and deservedly finished fifth in the Club Champion.
Scott McLeod – Recognised for his positive attitude and commitment to training, McLeod was awarded the NT Thunder 2017 Clubman of the Year.
Michael Mummery – Michael Mummery became the youngest ever player to debut for Thunder at age 15 in 2016 and will be looking forward to playing after recovering from illness.
Shannon Rioli – Captain of the side in 2016 and 2017, Rioli said he was looking forward to the future.
Sam Smith – A joint runner-up with Abraham Ankers in the 2017 Club Champion, Smith, was one of only two players to represent NT Thunder in all 19 games of the 2017 NEAFL season.
Sam Talbot – The 28-year old played 17 games in 2017 to take his Thunder games tally to 32, which leaves him on track for his 50th game in 2018 with all things going to plan.
Richard Tambling – A well-respected leader and one of NT Thunder’s favourites, Tambling is in line to play his 50th game for the Club after re-signing.
Patrick White – NT Thunder Head Coach Andrew Hodges described 22-year-old White as a versatile forward who is handy in front of goal and also has the ability to rotate through the midfield.
Chris Williams – The first ‘new’ face to be added to the 2018 NEAFL list, Williams has played the past two NTFL seasons with the Darwin Buffaloes and his commitment to the program so far has thoroughly impressed Andrew Hodges.
Phillip Wills – A 50-game player for the Club, Wills is a highly respected leader and popular figure in Territory football.
Nick Yarran – Yarran had an impressive first season in 2017, coming fourth in the Club Championship Award, winning the KIK Digital Community and Media Award and playing 17 out of 19 possible games.

Players from 2017 list who have departed the Club:

Justin Beugelaar – To play country Victoria
Lochlan Dhurrkay – Moved to Geelong
Michael Hagan – Moved to Queensland
Tony Olango – Drafted as a rookie to West Coast Eagles
Jack Shannahan – To play country Victoria
Ryan Smith – Retired
Neil Vea Vea – Seeking opportunities at Glenelg
Daniel Weetra – Seeking opportunities at Glenelg